Crafting and cream tea = my perfect weekend

19 Mar

There’s nothing I like more than cosying up indoors on rainy days to craft, especially with a generous wedge of homemade cake to keep me going. So imagine my pleasure on Saturday to find myself driving through a torrential downpour to Northchapel in West Sussex for one of vintage queen Sarah Moore’s new crafting masterclasses. I could hardly contain my excitment!

The schedule for the day was to create a personalised notice board, make fabric corsages and lavender cushions, and giftwrap locally produced soaps in antique maps and papers – a lot, perhaps, to cover in one session, but with a seemingly endless supply of scones, Victoria sponges and tea – served using antique chinaware – it was a challenge I couldn’t wait to tackle.

And Sarah Moore is a fantastic teacher. Inspirational, encouraging and patient, she soon had our small group busily cutting antique wallpapers into hexagon shapes and sticking them in a patchwork over a standard cork noticeboard. The transformation was almost instant and it was amazing to see how, given the same basic materials, every one of us created a design unique and completely different.

20130318_141911

We stopped for lunch – a picnic style affair with quiche, figs and potato salads, and apricot crumble (served in vintage teacups) – before continuing with our makes. The velvet lavender strawberries and rose-scented roses smelt heavenly, and ended up looking so wonderful I’m not sure I’m going to be able to give mine away…

Sarah Moore soaps

Sarah Moore soap

It was such a treat to be able to devote a day to crafting – somehow the rain outside made it all the more justifiable – and it was also wonderful to have the opportunity to meet other likeminded makers with a love of all things vintage. When the class came to an end, although I didn’t want to leave, I also couldn’t wait to get home to start sourcing materials for my next project – needle, thread and pinking shears here I come!

sarahmoorevintage.com

One Response to “Crafting and cream tea = my perfect weekend”

  1. Madeleine April 3, 2013 at 6:44 pm #

    Just loving a catch up with you!

Leave a Reply

